Smith Conducts Smith – Masterpieces – Vol. IV


1. Dance Prelude
2. Festival Variations
3. Jubilant Prelude
4. Moresca: A Symphonic Pantomime
5. Santiago Carnival
6. Shenandoah: A Sea Fantasy
7. Symphony No.1 for Band
Mvt. 1 Flourish
Mvt. 2 March
Mvt. 3 Lyric Song
Mvt. 4 Toccata

Continuing the re-release of landmark recordings conducted by the composer, the masterpieces heard on this album are some of Claude’s most difficult works which challenge every section of the concert band. The demands on the band are expressed through masterful technique, driving and intricate rhythms, lyrical melodies, and unusual harmonies. With Smith’s leadership on the podium conducting the recording band, he was able to capture the intricate nuances that he was looking for while writing these pieces. This disc features seven magnificent Claude T. Smith works performed by two exemplary university bands, University of Kansas Symphonic Band and Southwestern State University Wind Symphony! Originally released on LP record, these historic recordings have been remastered and are now available on CD!

SKU: WFR880 Category: